(Thursday 9-21-1944)

 ‘Sapta-Shloki’ (the Seven Verses)


                                         Yada srushtam jagat sarvam

                                         Tada lokapitamahah

                                         Chaturveda samayuktam

                                         Shashwatam dharmamadishat

Purport: At the time of Creation, that is, when the Universe was created and arrayed, the Almighty Father revealed unto the Seers and Sages the eternally sound principles of religious disciplines embodied in the form of Four Vedas.

                                         Kim satkarma kim adhyatmam

                                         Yadi vijnyatu marhati

                                         Sarva sastreshu grantheshu

                                        Pramanam paramam shrutih

Purport: If you are keen to know what is good deed, action or moral duty and what is the fact concerning the soul (Brahman) then the highly regarded supportive scripture for all the precepts and scriptures, which have brought forth the knowledge on the subjects, is Vedas alone, the only authoritative standard of reference.

                                         Aspashtam cha kada spashtam

                                         Tatvajnana wiwechanam

                                         Anyatra labhyate kintu

                                         Pramanam paramam shrutih

Purport: It is likely that the Knowledge concerning philosophy or the real nature of the soul (Brahman) may have been discussed clearly or indistinctly in other scriptures but if there is any authoritative standard text on the subject it is only Vedas.

                                         Arsha grantheshu sarveshu

                                         Shruti pramanya mewacha

                                         Sarvatah aramadadyat

                                         Nijakalyan hetawe

Purport: Such scriptures of the great Seers wherein has been incorporated the essence of everything that is beneficial for the welfare of man, for all of these, Vedas is the only supportive standard scripture of reference.

                                         Shushkawadaratah kechin

                                         Nanyadastiti wadinah

                                         Sarwe te wilayam yanti

                                         Mithya kalaha karinah

Purport: Creating any causeless or dry controversy or not recognizing the dominion of the Almighty but expounding that the visible world alone is the truth, rest is all untrue – such controversies or opinions create false and worthless conflicts. Therefore all such opinions and counter-opinions will face dissolution, they will all disappear.

                                        Nastikah wedanindakah

                                         Pakhandah wedadooshakah

                                         Ete sarwe winashyanti

                                         Mithyachara prawartakah

Purport: Atheists (non-believers), defamators of the Vedas, hypocrites and seducers of the Vedas cause to be instrumental in propagating wrong thoughts and behavior hence they all will face destruction.

                                         Yajnya daan tapah karma

                                        Swadhyaya nirato bhawet

                                         Esha ewa hi shrutyuktah

                                         Satya dharma sanatanah

Purport: Be engaged in Yagnya, Daan, Tapa, Karma and Swadhyaya. This is the eternal Satya Dharma as propounded by the Vedas.


Ten Principles of the Vedas

Veda-tatva dashaka, is also referred to as the Ten Commandments. Whoever obeys these commands of the  Holy Vedas will be liberated, so long as they are followed by body, speech and mind.

Eternal Religion

Satya sanatan dharma are eternal principles of happy living given at the time of creation. It is the root of all religions, and it is the tree, while all other religions and sects are its branches and leaves.

The Divine Message

Sacred words of Shree Gajanan Maharaj that were first written and spoken to some of those closest to Shree. The “sacred words” were later shared through them to the world.